The Sierra Leone Web



President Kabbah's First Cabinet
Announced shortly after the 1996 elections

Alhaji Ahmad Tejan Kabbah

Albert Joe Demby
Vice President

Thaimu Bangura
Minister for Finance

Maigore Kallon
Minister for Foreign Affairs

Abu Aiah Koroma
Minister for Parliamentary and Political Affairs

Solomon Berewa
Attorney-General and Minister of Justice

Dr. Momodu Yillah
Minister for National Reconstruction, Resettlement and Rehabilitation

Sheik Gibril Bangura
Minister for Transport, Communications and the Environment

Dr. Prince A. Harding
Minister for Mineral Resources

Dr. Kemoh Salia-Bao
Minister for Internal Affairs

Dr. Alpha T. Wurie
Minister for Education

Dr. Mohamed K. Turay
Minister for Health and Sanitation

Dr. Harry Will
Minister for Agriculture and National Resources

George Banda-Thomas
Minister for Information and Broadcasting

Amy Smythe
Minister for Gender and Children's Affairs

Mohamed Gassama
Minister for Employment and Industrial Relations

Dr. Yembeh Mansaray
Minister for Energy and Power

Abdul Thorlu-Bangura
Minister for Trade and Industry

Lawrence Kamara
Minister for Marine Resources

Emmanuel O. Grant
Minister for Works and Technical Maintenance

George K. Saffa
Minister for Local Government and Community Development

Dr. Sheku B. Saccoh
Minister for Social Welfare, Youth and Sport

Capt. (Ret.) Abdul Rahman Kamara
Minister for Lands, Housing, Town and Country Planning

Shirley Gbujama
Minister for Tourism and Culture

Dr. James O.C. Jonah
Permanent Representative to the United Nations and Advisor to the President